Ronaldinho Gaucho

Monday, January 16, 2006

Ronaldinho gonged again

Barcelona striker and world player of the year Ronaldinho has received another accolade, being voted into UEFA's team of the year.

He joins Liverpool's Steven Gerrard and Luis Garcia and Andriy Schevchenko, Cafu and Paolo Maldini from AC Milan in the team, while Chelsea's Jose Mourinho was voted as coach.

The Blues' Petr Cech and John Terry also made the squad, along with Ronaldinho's teammates Carles Puyol and Samuel Eto'o and Pavel Nedved from Juventus.

The team was voted for by 1.5 million users of

"The voting recognised both the two best teams in Europe last season ... Liverpool and Milan, as well as the two clubs that have shone in their domestic leagues in the past 12 months, Chelsea and Barcelona," David Farrelly, editor-in-chief on UEFA's website, told Reuters.

It is the third successive year Mourinho has been named as coach, while it is also the third time Nedved has been included.

Petr Cech (Chelsea), Cafu (AC Milan), John Terry (Chelsea), Carles Puyol (Barcelona), Paolo Maldini (AC Milan), Luis Garcia (Liverpool), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Ronaldinho (Barcelona), Pavel Nedved (Juventus), Samuel Eto'o (Barcelona), Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan)

Coach: Jose Mourinho (Chelsea)


Post a Comment

<< Home